Mifflin Community Library

Mifflin Community Library

Berks County Public Libraries

(est.1986) coordinates services offered by the 23 independent participating public libraries in Berks County. By sharing our collections, by consolidating our purchasing, cataloging and processing, and by creating cooperative services like the Storyriders and the Summer Reading Program, the libraries of BCPL are able to give to our communities well-run, dynamic libraries in the most efficient and cost-effective way.

Staff & Trustees

Library Staff

  • Helen Sheimo Flynn, MS-- Library Director
    Ms. Flynn has an M.S. in Library Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She was library director of Saint Teresa High School in Decatur, IL, and a member of the Board of Directors for the Illinois Rolling Prairie Library System. She lives in Bern Township and enjoys gardening and reading mysteries as pastimes.
  • Jillian Woodruff –Youth Services, Part-time Jillian is a Governor Mifflin grad with a B.A. in Communications/Journalism and an M.Ed in Counseling Psychology, both from Temple University. She worked as a guidance counselor at several schools before leaving to homeschool her two daughters. As a Library Assistant, she learned all aspects of library procedures and even filled in brilliantly for our previous Youth Services person during a long-term absence. We're delighted she decided to take the Youth Services job permanently.
  • Elizabeth Shepley – Programs/PR Coordinator, Part-time
    Elizabeth has an A.A. in Communications from RACC and a B.S. in General Studies with a concentration in Professional Writing from Kutztown University. A Cumru Township resident, she enjoys writing, creating, and volunteering.
  • Amber Bernhard - Library Assistant, Part-time
    Ambur graduated from Kutztown University with a major in electronic media/public relations, which serves her well in her job with BCTV. She was a favorite volunteer at MCL before becoming a staff member.
  • Melissa Cronrath - Library Assistant, Part-time
    Melissa is a graduate of Governor Mifflin High School and was formerly both a library volunteer and a Board Member. Melissa knows many of our patrons' favorite authors and is MCL's interlibrary loan processor. She's the mother of a GM graduate and enjoys reading the latest fiction bestsellers.
  • Patti Hutchinson - Library Assistant, Part-time
    Patti, a nurse with a master's degree in Community Health Nursing from American University, is a resident of Brecknock Township and was a library volunteer at MCL prior to being hired. Patti originated the Bedtime Storytime Program. She's the mother of two GM graduates and enjoys botany, yoga, hiking, and contra dancing.
  • Melissa Inderbitzen - Library Assistant, Part-time
    Melissa has an AA degree with a major in word processing from the Community College of Allegheny County. She lives in Shillington and also works as a lunch aide at Cumru Elementary School.
  • Liz Latch – Library Assistant, Part-time
    Liz graduated from Governor Mifflin and is the mother of three library-card-holding patrons of Mifflin Community Library. Liz loves watching classic movies and rereads Laura Ingalls Wilder's "Little House" books every year.
  • Lisa Nuss - Library Assistant, Part-time
    Lisa has worked as a children's librarian at both the Muhlenberg and Kutztown libraries and is now happy to be working at Mifflin. Although she is no longer working as a children's librarian, she still enjoys reading and recommending children's books.
  • Lyubov Surita- Library Assistant, Part-time
    Luba lives in Sinking Spring and is a Penn State grad with a B.S. in Communication Sciences and Disorders. She served as our principal substitute until a Library Assistant position opened up. We're glad she's now a permanent employee.

    Board of Trustees

    • President: Megan Huesgen, represents Cumru Township
    • Vice President: Colleen Stamm, represents Kenhorst
    • Secretary: Marilyn Eaken, represents Cumru Township
    • Treasurer: Carey Babczak, represents Cumru Township
    • Library Director: Helen Sheimo Flynn
    • Board Member: Mary Buechley, represents Mohnton
    • Board Member: Sheri Hoover, represents Cumru Township
    • Board Member: Britta Hyneman, represents Shillington
    • Board Member: Patricia Shermot, represents Shillington
    • Board Member: Rebecca Worley, represents Cumru Township
    • Ex-Officio Board Member: David Silcox

    The Mifflin Community Library Board of Trustees meets in the library at 7 pm. on the 4th Wednesday of the month except for two months when there are no meetings and December, when the meeting is on the first Wednesday of the month. Meetings are open to the public and are listed on our Events Calendar.

    Board Meeting Minutes - 2016:

    Board Meeting Minutes - 2015: